Japanese Salmon Soup—The Lost Recipe Version

Japanese Salmon Soup

IMG_1198

Last week I saw this really nice recipe for Japanese salmon soup online. Unfortunately I did not bookmark it and cannot find it anywhere, in my browser history. So all I remember the author recommended to make the broth first and rub the inside of the ceramic crock-pot with miso soup.

So all I had was some ingredients (most of which I cannot even get anywhere close to home—big hint to Waitrose!) so I had to tweak and make it from what I remember.

Ingredients

The Broth

  • 1,5 l water: to be honest I threw in all my left over frozen fish and seafood and an onion, I think it was about 400 gr
  • boil until fish is done
  • because the left over frozen seafood had a bit of freezer burn I poured it all through a sieve so I would only have the broth and non of the meat (happy neighbour cats)

The Actual Soup

I took my pretty ceramic crock pot and rubbed the inside with miso soup paste (which is normally my emergency lunch)

  • 2 slices of Norwegian organic salmon
  • 2 tok choi cut into pieces
  • about 7 chiitake mushrooms cut small
  • 1 leek cut in slices
  • 1  tablespoon fish sauce
  • 1 tablespoon roasted sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 2 fresh chillies
  • some fresh ginger

I placed all of this in the ceramic crock pot and then baked it for 1,5 hours at 200°C

It turned out really well despite missing most ingredients and it probably tastes anything but the actual Japanese fish soup, but that’s the best I could do with the ingredients I could get hold of.

 

Leave a Reply

